Possible efficient spread of SARS2/New SARS/MERS in the Middle East

There has been a rapid increase in the number of MERS cases in Saudi Arabia within the last few weeks. Although information from government officials has been lacking, there has been speculation by outside experts that the virus may have changed to become more efficiently transmitted. The attack rate among health care workers appears to have increased.

Dr. Ian Mackay has written an informative blog with a chart demonstrating what looks like a dramatic increase in the number of cases in Saudi Arabia.

You can find it here:
http://virologydownunder.blogspot.com.au/2014/04/and-then-that-happened.html

3 Comments

Filed under Outbreak

3 responses to “Possible efficient spread of SARS2/New SARS/MERS in the Middle East

  1. gsgs

    they (the king and his followers) say it’s not spreading
    they say it’s due to increased testing
    health minister fired
    WHO experts are on the way …

    do you trust them more than e.g. China ?

  2. aurora

    Monotreme, I can’t log in.

    Is it possible for me to continue to use the name “aurora”?

    I’m back.

    I contracted flu in 2009 and haven’t been well since.

    Flu may have exacerbated my preexisting fibromyalgia and asthma, or this might be damage left from the flu virus.

    I’m in pain, averaging only four hours sleep each night, and disequilibrium keeps me in bed unless I’m up to get food.

    I plan to read and eventually do analysis and commentary.

    I ’m sorry that I’ve been MIA. I just disappeared and you were worried…

    I missed you.

    I really missed you.

    Aurora
    you held me down, but I got up…

Leave a Reply

